Using text in a drawing…

Tree pencil

After looking at some of William Kentridge’s drawings and etchings, I found myself inspired to create work of my own in a similar style to his using text as a background to my drawings. I noticed that Kentridge uses trees a lot as a subject and thought that this would be a useful subject for me to use also as trees are a common factor in both my paintings and installations. My intention is to explore different drawing techniques that will influence my work and help me along the path to success.

My first drawing was created using torn pieces of newspaper and glued them on to an A4 sheet of paper in a collage technique. I then drew a tree using a 4B pencil and shaded with crosshatching. By looking at this drawing, I can not help but notice that it has an unfinished quality to it with the jagged edges of the newspaper and squiggly rough lines used to form the tree branches. This unfinished look is not what I usually aim to achieve when producing artwork, if anything it is the opposite of what my artwork usually looks like, however I personally think that on this occasion an unfinished look works well. There is no meaning behind the text used in the drawing which is also different to my usual work as I often work around a narrative. This drawing was created for appearance purposes and not for the viewer to search for any form of hidden meaning or narrative.

Tree marker pen

I created a second Kentridge inspired tree drawing using the same technique involving torn newspaper but a different media for the tree drawing itself. For the tree drawing I chose to use a thick pointed black marker pen to create bold lines. As opposed to shading the tree, I decided to create a line drawing. Of the two drawings I personally think that the second is the most effective with the variation of line and boldness of the drawing itself. These drawings have helped me to appreciate the relationship between the use of line in a drawing and it’s background and how they compliment each other. It has also made me appreciate the use of text in an artwork.

Leave a Reply

