Shaun Project Space Critique

This week I was given the chance to display and exhibit my work in the Shaun Project Space and see my artwork out of my studio and in an art gallery environment where my work would be critiqued by the rest of my class. I chose to display my painting installations which I have been working on over the past few weeks, with hopes that they would be viewed in comparison to my last installation displayed in the Shaun Project Space during my last art critique.

20140305_124221

 

20140305_124200

 

20140305_124231

 

20140305_124237

20140305_124248

 

I installed my painted forest installation inspired by Disneyland Paris scenery into the project space and it immediately changed from being a confined painting in a small studio space closed off from much visual contact, to a open painting that stood out from surroundings, almost like a window to another world from an isolated space. The transformation of the artwork itself is astonishing. It’s amazing to think that changing the artwork’s environment could almost change the whole subject of the piece itself.

I also learnt that the painting itself worked well on it’s own as well as with the sculpture. The man-made mechanical objects combined with the natural outdoor painting compliment each other. A collaboration of natural elements combined with synthetic materials are the makings for an interesting piece of art.

Looking at the painting on it’s own without the sculpture draws more attention to the process of the painting and the marks in the image itself. There is also more natural light in the Shaun Project Space than in my personal studio which helps me to appreciate the painting more out of my space and in an exhibition space.

20140306_115510

 

Overall, I personally think that this artwork works well as both a painting and an installation piece, however in my opinion I favor it as an installation and both the painting and sculpture as one piece as opposed to two separate artworks. My reason for this is that the artificial objects of the sculpture compliment the painting and work well together with the painting as a backdrop.

 

20140305_154511

 

20140305_154542

 

20140305_154519

 

20140305_154619

 

20140305_154632

 

20140306_112409

 

I also chose to display my second installation in the art critique which is my most recent piece. It is a corner installation painting of an Autumn forest scene containing a lot of browns and oranges to set the scene and create a mood for the viewer. Rather than a sculpture made of synthetic materials, I chose to display straw, leaves and dead plants in front of the painting which are natural elements you would find in a forest or outdoor environment. I installed this piece with hopes that it could be compared to my other painting installation and most importantly the last installation I exhibited in this space featuring real life by having a live actor in the installation sleeping during the critique.

My last non-painted installation focused a lot on the narrative and hidden meanings where as my painted installations focus on the scenery and marks on the painting itself, thinking less about the narrative and leaving the story down to the viewer’s own interpretation.

The feedback I received from my audience was very positive. A few mentioned that it reminded them of a theatrical back-drop which is partially my aim, as theater design is a career path I have considered going down. Others said that both of my installations reminded them of portals; windows to another dimension that they could almost walk into. I was very pleased after hearing these comments as the message I was trying to send came across very well and the viewers focused more on the artwork itself rather than the meanings behind the work.

I looked at the painting without the leaves and plants in front of it but do not feel as though the piece was as effective without them. The Autumn paintings are designed for an installation piece with the leaves in front where as the other painting was accidentally made into an installation which explains why it works well as both.

20140306_115525

 

Overall, after receiving feedback and seeing this artwork in the exhibition space, I believe the painting could benefit from more attention to detail with my paintbrushes and more colours too. Even though it was designed simply for the installation, it would be interesting to see it transformed into a painting.

20140305_124603

 

20140305_124607

 

20140305_124911

 

Alongside my Autumn painting installation, I chose to show an apple centered in a small amount of leaves and straw. My reason for this is that I chose to display another apple in the Autumn installation in with the leaves on the ground to show how much of an impact the environment surrounding an object has on the artwork itself. No one commented on this as not many people noticed the apple in the installation and the people who did assumed it was a fallen apple from the tree. Maybe If I had used a different object I would have received a different response.

My point was that unlike my last installation showing the live actor, I hoped for the scenery to receive more attention than object featured which it did. I did however feel that the apple alone on the plinth was a less important piece of art than the two installations as it did not receive much attention in comparison and the audience related more to the installations.

20140306_112539

Since both types of installation, one featuring ready-mades and a live actor and the other featuring ready-mades and paintings, were successful and received a positive response from my audience; my next step will be to combine the two installation types together and feature a live actor in front of my painting. My only worry for this is that my audience will view the painting as only a backdrop and nothing else to the live action taking place in front of it. However, art is all about taking risks and testing the boundaries which is what I intend to do.

 

Below is a group of edited and unedited photographs from the exhibition which I consider to be artwork by themselves. I have edited them using Adobe Photoshop and adjusted the light levels and in one case, removed all colour and converted the image into sepia-tone. I have chose these photographs to stand alone as art themselves due to their composition, depth and uniqueness. I have always had a passion for photography and feel as though these are very successful photographs. :

 

An unedited photograph taken by myself featuring a red apple with straw and small crisp leaves.

An unedited photograph taken by myself featuring a red apple with straw and small crisp leaves.

 

 

An edited photograph taken by Danielle Murphy featuring myself in my Autumn installation holding an apple.

An edited photograph taken by Danielle Murphy featuring myself in my Autumn installation holding an apple.

 

An edited photograph taken by me showing me holding and apple in my Autumn installation.

An edited photograph taken by me showing me holding and apple in my Autumn installation.

 

An edited photograph taken by Danielle Murphy showing me holding an apple in my installation.

An edited photograph taken by Danielle Murphy showing me holding an apple in my installation.

 

An edited photograph taken by me featuring an apple in my Autumn installation.

An edited photograph taken by me featuring an apple in my Autumn installation.

 

Leave a Reply

